[OM] Re: OT e-mail problems with Verizon Net

Subject: [OM] Re: OT e-mail problems with Verizon Net
From: "Piers Hemy" <piers@xxxxxxxx>
Date: Wed, 23 Feb 2005 09:51:47 -0000
Winsor, there are ten pages of postings here

(Otherwise http://tinyurl.com/5lovz) 

The following edited post seems to be the most clear-headed and plausible:

"Verizon have blocked IP ranges. Any mail server that is using an IP address
in one of the blocked ranges is simply prevented from even reaching the
Verizon mail servers in the first place.

For example, if I try to make an SMTP connection to the Verizon SMTP
connection from my servers, the verizon network just ignores the connection:
[root@smtp1 root]# telnet relay.verizon.net 25
telnet: connect to address Connection timed out

The "block" is only on SMTP traffic - I can still ping that server, for
[root@smtp1 root]# ping relay.verizon.net
PING relay.verizon.net ( 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from relay.gte.net ( icmp_seq=0 ttl=239 time=130 ms

The evidence is incontrovertible - Verizon simply blacklisted significant
portions of the European IP address space, and then whitelisted some of the
more well known European ISPs. They didn't tell their customers about it,
and, significantly, they didn't tell their "technical support" staff about
it either, so even if customers noticed that e-mail was missing, they
couldn't get it fixed. And because ordinary customers typically won't know
what the source IP address of the missing e-mail might be, they couldn't get
it fixed, even if they told tech support that they wanted to get e-mail from
"joe.bloe@xxxxxxxxxxxxx", because "somedomain.xy" isn't what's blocked, and
if joe.bloe@xxxxxxxxxxxxx has migrated to superisp.pq, but is still using
his somedomain.xy mail address (perfectly legitimately), then the IP
addresses of superisp.pq are the ones that must be whitelisted to allow
legitimate mail through."

I tried to email you mysel;f a month ago, and got a rejection (which from
your message to me yesterday was not your intention).  Did you get either of
two direct mails from me over the past 24 hours?

-----Original Message-----
From: olympus-owner@xxxxxxxxxx [mailto:olympus-owner@xxxxxxxxxx] On Behalf
Of Winsor Crosby
Sent: 22 February 2005 22:19
To: olympus@xxxxxxxxxx
Subject: [OM] Re: (OM) OT OT e-mail problems with Verizon Net

I did not find an explanation on your links. Wonder what the problem is
since I use Verizon?

Long Beach, California, USA
On Feb 22, 2005, at 1:43 PM, Brian Swale wrote:

> Hi All
> For some time now I have been totally puzzled by my inability to e-mail
> people whose ISP is verizon net.
> In a newsletter I subscribe to (THE OSTG UPDATE February 21, 2005),
> (newsletters@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)
> http://newsletters.ostg.com/wws/sigrequest/ostg-update
> comes an explanation.
> I wonder if other  USA ISPs, such as pacbell do the same; now that I 
> see
> this report, I wouldn't be at all surprised.
> February's Toast to Tech Evil
> http://newsvac.newsforge.com/article.pl?sid=05/02/21/1411254&from=rss
>     Steve Mallett writes "In this month's mocking toast To Evil! Danny
>     O'Brien finds evil within Sun's Hotspot Java Machine, Sun's CSL 
> (the
>     other license), and the foolhardiness that is the "secret" email
>     filtering techniques of our ugly American Verizon.net in Europe: 
> "...
>     banning email coming from countries outside the USA. Given that 
> most
>     spam comes from American companies, this sounds a bit like fighting
>     stings by locking yourself in a beehive, and smearing yourself with
>     royal jelly. But mostly, it's odd because eventually those 
> foreigners
>     are going to find someone they *can* communicate with. And once 
> they
>     snap out of that crazy bloo-bloo language they all speak, and talk
>     proper English to a journalist, Word Will Get Out.""
> Brian
> ==============================================
> List usage info:     http://www.zuikoholic.com
> List nannies:        olympusadmin@xxxxxxxxxx
> ==============================================

List usage info:     http://www.zuikoholic.com
List nannies:        olympusadmin@xxxxxxxxxx

List usage info:     http://www.zuikoholic.com
List nannies:        olympusadmin@xxxxxxxxxx

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>